Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts

Kimmel Center, Inc. Elects Officers and Directors
Daniel J. Whelan to Succeed Willard G. Rouse III as Chairman of the Board
January 30, 2003

Daniel J. Whelan
At their annual meeting today, the board of directors of Kimmel Center, Inc. elected new officers and directors, naming Daniel J. Whelan, of counsel with Montgomery McCracken Walker and Rhoads and former President and Chief Executive Officer of Verizon Pennsylvania Inc., chairman of the board. Whelan succeeds Willard G. Rouse III who will remain an active member of the Kimmel Center, Inc. board.

Also today, board members William P. Hankowsky, David G. Marshall and Leslie Anne Miller were elected vice chairs. Rounding out the board leadership are George Ross, treasurer and Paul Tufano, secretary.

The board also re-elected William Avery, David Berkman, Catherine R. Clifton, John G. Drosdick, Kenneth M. Jarin, Alan Miller, Molly Shepard and Paul Tufano as directors. Carole Shanis was newly elected as a member of the board.

"Over the past year weíve been transitioning from an entity created to build a performing arts center to one charged with operating the now-complete Kimmel Center and naming a new chairman of the board completes that transition," said Rouse. "Dan Whelan is the perfect choice. His service and steadfast commitment to the project have given him an innate understanding of the Kimmel Centerís mission and his election - along with other changes approved today - will ensure continuity of leadership."

Whelan has been an active member of the Kimmel Center board since 1997, serving on the executive committee and chairing the marketing/outreach committee. He is co-chair of the 2003 Kimmel Center gala and is also on the board of Ticket Philadelphia, the joint venture managing ticket sales for the Kimmel Center and the Academy of Music. As President and CEO of Verizon Pennsylvania Inc., Whelan built on Verizonís multi-million dollar capital contributions to the Kimmel Center building campaign by securing generous ongoing corporate funding for Kimmel Center Presents programming.

Whelan said, "Bill Rouse is a tough act to follow but also a great role model. His dedication has made the Kimmel Center a success. With the help of my fellow board members, staff and the community, I intend to build on his record."

Whelan becomes the third chairman of the board governing the Kimmel Center. The Hon. Samuel A. McCullough, former Pennsylvania Secretary of Community and Economic Development and founding chairman of the Regional Performing Arts Center (RPAC), is credited with marshalling the forces needed to get the project off the ground. Rouse, the visionary developer of such Philadelphia landmarks as Liberty Place and the Pennsylvania Convention Center, led the non-profit entity from groundbreaking to opening and through the Kimmel Centerís first year of operation.

The following is a complete list of the board of directors of Kimmel Center, Inc.:

Daniel J. Whelan

Vice Chairs:
David G. Marshall
William P. Hankowsky
Leslie Anne Miller

George M. Ross

Paul A. Tufano

William J. Avery
David J. Berkman
Robert W. Bogle
Roland K. Bullard II
C. Christopher Cannon
Catherine R. Clifton
David L. Cohen.
Charles P. Connolly, Jr.
Stephen A. Cozen
Mimi Dimeling
John G. Drosdick
Kenneth Gamble
Dorrance H. Hamilton
Kenneth M. Jarin
Sidney Kimmel
Hon. Samuel A. McCullough
Alan B. Miller
Raymond G. Perelman
Sharon Pinkenson
Janice Price
Robert Reid
Hon. Marjorie O. Rendell
Willard G. Rouse III
Ronald Rubin
Samuel J. Savitz
Carole Shanis
Molly D. Shepard
Harold Sorgenti
Wilson H. Taylor
Brian P. Tierney
Spencer W. Wertheimer
James W. Zug

> index of news releases
> For more information, and to request high resolution images for press use, please send us a message online.