mobile logo
Brentano Quartet with Jonathan Biss Brentano Quartet with Jonathan Biss Brentano Quartet with Jonathan Biss

Philadelphia Chamber Music Society

Brentano Quartet
with Jonathan Biss, piano

Feb 16, 2017
8:00 PM

This event has passed.


Bach: Art of the Fugue, BWV 1080 [Sel.]

Kurtág: Jatekok, Volume VII [Sel.]


Britten: Quartet in C Major, Op. 36 

Beethoven: Piano Sonata in C Minor, Op. 111 

A theme of farewell runs through this program—the first of three inquiries on “late style” that PCMS presents over a four week period. Beethoven’s farewell is to the piano sonata—the medium in which he was so prolific yet ultimately declared too limiting. In Op. 111, his most central qualities—inner turmoil, humanity and spirituality—are taken to magnificent extremes. Bach’s farewell is to composition: these fugues—which do not even specify their instrumentation—are as rigorous and intricate as any music ever written. Britten’s farewell is to life itself: of the quartet’s harrowing last movement, Norbert Brainen of the Amadeus Quartet (the work’s dedicatees), said: “Ben wrote his own death.” Regarding Játékok, happily, György Kurtág is still alive and active at age 88. But nostalgia has been a preoccupation of his work, growing more precise and moving as he ages.

Perelman Theater

Inside the Kimmel Center

300 S Broad St

Philadelphia, PA 19102

Run Time: 1 hour and 50 minutes

Thank You To Our Sponsors

Departure and Discovery: New Directions at the Apex of Creativity is supported by The Pew Center for Arts & Heritage.