mobile logo
Hélène Grimaud Hélène Grimaud Hélène Grimaud

The Philadelphia Orchestra

Dvořák’s New World Symphony

Sep 19, 2019
Sep 22, 2019

This event has passed.


Yannick Nézet-Séguin - Conductor
Hélène Grimaud - Piano

Coleman - Umoja, for orchestra
Bartók - Piano Concerto No. 3
Dvořák - Symphony No. 9 ("From the New World")

Umoja, a world premiere commission by American composer Valerie Coleman, launches our 2019-20 season. Ms. Coleman's spirited music draws from Afro-Cuban, jazz, and classical genres. Umoja—meaning unity in Swahili—is alive with all these influences. Bartók's gorgeous Third Concerto, performed by Yannick's good friend Hélène Grimaud, is as vibrant today as the day The Philadelphia Orchestra and Eugene Ormandy gave the world premiere at the Academy of Music in 1946. This program, inspired by music of American roots, concludes with Dvorák's wondrous “New World” Symphony.

Verizon Hall

Kimmel Center

300 S Broad St

Philadelphia, PA 19102

You Might Also Like