mobile logo

Curtis Institute of Music

Graduation Recital: Haram Kim, violin

April 9, 2021, 8 p.m. ET

Start and end dates to be determined.


The centerpiece of violinist Haram Kim’s recital is Sergey Prokofiev’s melancholy Violin Sonata No. 1, written under the iron-fisted regime of Joseph Stalin. The work reflects the devastation of World War II in music its composer compared to “autumn evening wind blowing across a neglected cemetery grave.” The recital continues with a technically demanding sonata by Eugène Ysaÿe dedicated to Fritz Kreisler, one of the 20th century’s most celebrated violinists; and concludes with a popular tune penned by Kreisler himself.  



SERGEY PROKOFIEV Sonata No. 1 in F minor, Op. 80
  Haram Kim, violin
  Kang-eun Cho, piano
EUGÈNE YSAŸE Sonata in E minor, Op. 27, No. 4
HENRYK WIENIAWSKI   Polonaise brillante No. 2 in A major, Op. 21
  Haram Kim, violin
FRITZ KREISLER Shepherd's Madrigal
  Haram Kim, violin
  Kang-eun Cho, piano



Watch the free recital premiere on Facebook at concert time. No account or login is required.

Our student performers will be online to respond to your questions and comments in real time!



Can’t make the premiere? Sign up for free access and watch the recital on demand when convenient.


Curtis Institute of Music