mobile logo

Curtis Institute of Music

Graduation Recital: Josephine Chung, violin

April 20, 2021, 6 p.m. ET

Start and end dates to be determined.


Josephine Chung begins her recital with Franz Schubert’s exuberant Sonata in A major, a work bursting with the composer’s inventive personality. The recital continues with a brilliant sonata by Eugène Ysaÿe. Ysaÿe dedicated this work to his contemporary Fritz Kreisler, one of the most celebrated violinists of the 20th century. J. S. Bach’s Sonata No. 6 in G major, alternately buoyant and haunting, concludes the performance. 


Program (subject to change)

FRANZ SCHUBERT   Sonata in A major, D. 574 ("Grand Duo")
       Allegro moderato
       Scherzo: Presto
       Scherzo: Presto
       Allegro vivace 
EUGÈNE YSAŸE Sonata in E minor, Op. 27, No. 4 
JOHANN SEBASTIAN BACH    Sonata No. 6 in G major, BWV 1019 

Watch the free recital premiere on Facebook at concert time. No account or login is required.

Our student performers will be online to respond to your questions and comments in real time!


Can’t make the premiere? Sign up for free access and watch the recital on demand when convenient.


Curtis Institute of Music